Students from Mountain City Center for the Arts, LLC Nationally Recognized at 2017 Junior Theatre Festival


FROSTBURG — Students from Mountain City Center for the Arts found success at the 2017 Junior Theatre Festival, held recently at the Cobb Galleria Centre in Atlanta.

Hosted by iTheatrics, students earned several accolades, including a national award, the Freddie G Award for Excellence in Acting, one of 15 groups selected out of 111 educational musical theater groups attending from 28 states, the District of Columbia, Australia and New Zealand.

Produced by the Junior Theater Group in partnership with iTheatrics, a leading educational theater company that creates innovative experiences and products for the public and private sector, the Junior Theater Festival is the world’s largest festival celebrating young people and the power of musical theater, according to a news release.

 An international roster of stage and screen stars and industry professionals from all aspects of professional musical theater were on hand to applaud the 5,800 plus attendees, including  Disney Theatrical President Thomas Schumacher.

The 21 students, members of “Team Teal” MCCA’s pre-professional student performance group, presented selections from “Bugsy Malone Jr.,” book by Alan Parker, music and lyrics by Paul Williams. The students who traveled to the Junior Theater Festival on behalf of MCCA were Reillee Beeman, Emily Chandler, Allison Clise, Madalyn Cornwell, Hayden Davis, Corinne Donoway, Ian Donoway, Abbey Duncan, Eliza Duncan, Isabelle Duncan, McClairen Eisenhour, Madison Henriquez, Kayla Hoover, Eli Litman, Bella McConnell, John McConnell, Clayton Muir, Sydney Nines, Brielle Windle, Karlee Witherite, Cassidy Witt, Guy Witt and Hannah Yazdani under the direction of owner/artistic director Coty Warn Forno and musical director Shelby Herbert. MCCA staff members in attendance were Katie Benson, Maddie Bohrer, Christina Davis, Jacki Dixon, Jessica Seminerio-Grapes, Matthan Potts and Alex Serrano.

This was MCCA’s first year of attendance. In addition to the Excellence in Acting Award, students also received individual recognition. Emily Chandler and Eli Litman were selected as festival All-Stars and were invited to perform in select performance numbers for the festival closing ceremonies.

 Corinne Donoway, Clayton Muir and Maddie Bohrer were selected to perform in the Broadway Slam, where they had only one hour to rehearse and perform a full number on the main stage.

Hannah Yazadani, Hayden Davis, Bella McConnell and John McConnell participated in the festival’s Tech Olympics.

Students will be presenting the full award winning production of “Bugsy Malone Jr.” March 3-5 at the Palace Theatre in Frostburg. Visit for more information or call 240-357-0699.